Level 2 Security Guarding (QCF)

The SIA issues licenses to Security Guards who meet their criteria. In the interests of the industry as a whole and in support of its license to practice, the SIA invited awarding organisations to develop a qualification to meet this demand.

To qualify for a license you will need to satisfy three requirements:
1) Pass an identity check
2) Pass a criminal records check
3) Possess a recognised Security Guarding qualification.

The Level 2 is such a recognised qualification and consists of 3 units:

Unit 1 - Working In the Private Security Industry

Know the purpose and main features of the private security industry
Understand the legislation that is relevant to people working within the private security industry
Know how to maintain health and safety in the workplace
Know how to apply the principles of fire safety
Know how to deal with non-fire related workplace emergencies
Understand the principles of effective communication and customer care in the private security industry

Unit 2 - Working as a Security Guard

Understand the role of a security officer within the private security industry
Understand the importance of, and reasons for, patrolling
Understand how to control access to and egress from a site
Understand basic search procedures
Understand the purpose and function of different types of technology, security and monitoring systems in the security environment
Understand the law and its relevance to the role of a security officer
Understand the importance and purpose of reporting and record keeping

Unit 3 - Conflict Management
Understand the principles of conflict management appropriate to their role
Understand how to recognise, assess and reduce risk in conflict situations
Understand how to communicate effectively in emotive situations and de-escalate conflict
Understand how to develop and use problem solving strategies for resolving conflict
Understand good practice to follow after conflict situations
What are the benefits of obtaining this qualification?
On successful completion of each unit, candidates receive a nationally recognised certificate awarded by the awarding organisation Edexcel. The Level 2 overarching certificate will be awarded once all 3 units have been successfully completed.

What does the assessment involve?
There are three examinations, one for each unit. Each examination has 20 multiple-choice questions and will take 30 minutes.

Who is this qualification for?
The Level 2 qualification is designed for those who wish to work in the industry; and is awarded to those who pass three examinations covering the basic knowledge and responsibilities of the occupation. This nationally recognised qualification is the industry standard and enables a Security Guard to apply for a license to practice.
Are there any exemptions to this qualification?
If you have completed a door supervisor training course and/or qualification you may be exempt from some or all of the training and qualification requirements. For a list of exemptions, visit www.the-sia.org.uk
If you have full exemption, you must contact us to request an Exemption Registration Form, providing your full name, address and date of birth. The form needs to be completed and returned to so that your details can be sent to the awarding body to confirm your exemption. Failure to submit this form will mean that your license application cannot be processed by the SIA, The cost of obtaining exemption from is £20.00 (including VAT).